Where you run our Mobile Zone App then we allow you to decide if the camera, app & in app purchases are accessible by your children.
What are Device Restrictions?
Device Restrictions are our features which allow you to restrict access to various features on smart devices. This include:
Access to the camera
Access to downloading Apps and In-App Purchases
What device restrictions are available on what operating systems?
iOS 12 and below
iOS 13 and above
Permit in App Purchases (on iOS)
Access iTunes (on iOS)
Explicit iTunes Content (on iOS)
Permit App Installs
How long does it take for settings to take effect?
Typically these will take 30 seconds but can take up to two minutes.
Can device restrictions apply for computers?
No. These only apply for compatible smart devices such as phones and tablets. Mobile Zone must be installed and registered on these devices.
Can I find out more about App & In App Purchases?
Yes, you can read our Apps & In App Purchases feature guide.
How do I turn off access to device features?
You can manage access to devices features through your online account through the web portal or the Zone Manager app.
TIP: Read our help guide to find out How to: manage device features.
I restricted device features on my child's Android device. Why can they still see it?
On Android devices some restricted features can still be opened. An error message will pop up on the screen.
I’ve blocked the camera for my child but I want to take a photo on that device. How can I do it?
It’s easy. Simply borrow the device as yourself (from Mobile Zone). Wait a few minutes for the settings to take effect and then take the photo.
Once you've taken the photo, end the borrow and hand the device back to your child.
Why can’t I use Family Zone to block device features on iOS 13 and above?
Apple have made a number of changes to their inbuilt parental controls and no longer allow third parties to control these.
TIP: Read how to set up Apple’s device restrictions.
If I disable camera access, will apps that require the camera still work?
Yes, however they will not be able to access the camera. They will be able to access photos and videos that are already on the device.
Device restrictions are only available on Premium subscriptions.