Access Requests are a feature which permits your children to send you a message to request a change in their access rules to allow them access to a particular website.
Messages can be sent from our App or from a block page. You can respond to it in a number of ways including changing access type, adding the site they’re trying to access to custom site lists or ignoring it.
What is an Access request?
It is a request from your child to adjust access. They can send an Access request from:
Block pages (pages they get redirected to when blocked)
http://home.tools (our tools page, accessible through a browser on a filtered device)
The Mobile Zone app
You receive Access Requests through our To do feature. As a To do, you can ignore or action it.
Will my child know why they're being blocked from a webpage?
Generally yes, and they will be redirected to our Block Page.
The Block Page explains what web page was being accessed and why it was blocked.
For secure sites and mobile Apps we cannot always redirect users. If blocked these pages will time-out.
Do I have to action Access Requests?
No. You can ignore them.
How am I be notified when an Access Request is submitted?
Via email or a push notification if you have Zone Manager installed and set up.
My child is being blocked for something they need. What can I do?
Ask your child to submit an Access Request from the Block Page.
You can then respond to the request by either:
Adjusting the Age Profile Controls
Adding the requested site to their Profile.
Can I make changes from my child’s device?
Yes. From the Block Page (or http://home.tools ) click Parent Options. From here you can perform the same policy changes as you can in an Access Request.
TIP: Read our help guides to find out How to: loan (borrow) a device from the block page or home.tools.
Can I stop my child from sending Access Requests?
I received the notification but I can’t see a To do in my account. Why?
This likely means either:
Another user with parent access has closed the To do, or
It has passed midnight for the user who requested the access change.
If you are at all concerned, you should check the device.
This feature is only available on Premium subscriptions as it relates to filtering.